India’s Win-Loss Record In Cape Town

The India vs South Africa 2nd Test will kick-start on January 3rd at Newlands in Cape Town.

Rohit Sharma’s team suffered a humiliating defeat in the first Test in Centurion to effectively what was a 10-man South African side after Temba Bavuma got injured in the first session on Day 1 at the SuperSport Park.

Veteran batsman Dean Elgar, who is playing in his last Test series and took over the captaincy duties after Bavuma’s injury, notched up his first Test century at his home ground in Centurion, scoring 185 runs. He got impressive support from debutant David Bedingham and Marco Jansen as South Africa piled up 408 runs after India were bowled out for 245, courtesy of KL Rahul’s brilliant century, while Kagiso Rabada took a sizzling five-wicket haul in the first innings.

Rabada, who had dismissed Virat Kohli in the first innings, started off in a spectacular fashion in India’s first innings as well, knocking the off-stump of captain Rohit Sharma. The South African pacers were all over India in the second innings as well, bowling them out for only 131, with only Virat Kohli showing a fight with a blockbuster knock of 76 runs in 82 balls.

Rohit Sharma would look to bounce back in India vs South Africa 2nd Test

South Africa is the only country where India have played Test cricket and not won a Test series yet. This 2-Test series was billed as the “final frontier” for the Asian giants. But the match ended inside 3 days and that dream of winning a Test series in South Africa ended.

India still have plenty to play for in Cape Town in the India vs South Africa 2nd Test: India would look to square the series and avoid a series loss; there are also crucial WTC points at stake, as the India have slipped to the 6th position in the WTC points table.

India vs South Africa 2nd Test: India’s Test Win-Loss Record In Cape Town

India have played 6 Tests in Newlands in Cape Town, and not won a single Test, losing four and drawing 2 Tests. India lost their last two Test matches in Cape Town, on the 2022 and 2018 tours, both under Virat Kohli.

Also Read: Wasim Akram Gives His Opinion On IPL vs PSL Debate; Pakistani Fans Shocked

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *